The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Home Base (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Cycling (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=26473)

regular.joe 12-09-2011 05:52 PM

Cycling

Are there any other cyclists in the Cellar? I have been cycling now for about 3-4 months. Can't run as much as I used to, I'm getting old and jumping out of planes, carrying heavy rucks and generally abusing my body is starting to hurt.

I did my first metric century, and first century last month. I average about 130-150 miles a week right now. I spend way to much money on kit and will continue to for the foreseeable future. I currently ride a TREK 1700 with tiargra accouterments. I will upgrade with my tax return next year to a Cannondale CAAD 10 with the 105 stuff.

My goal next year is to do a century a month for 12 months plus the 150 miles per week min.

I'll post pics of my bike, kit, and events on here as they come up. If you are a cyclist of any sort I would be glad to hear your stories, see your bike and generally talk bike shop.

HungLikeJesus 12-09-2011 06:19 PM

You get a big promotion, and now you're just going to sit back and go for a bike ride?

I ride occasionally, but not very seriously. I have a Trek 520 touring bike. Last year I spent five days riding from ~Chicago to ~Detroit.

I'm surprised that you were able to ride a century after training for only a few months.

ZenGum 12-09-2011 06:58 PM

A century? As in 100 miles in a single ride?

I'd consider that a long drive.

Griff 12-09-2011 07:13 PM

Hi Joe,