Quote:
Originally Posted by Griff
...Your turn!
|
CBS Sports
Quote:
Steratore: "We deemed that by our judgement to be the full process of the catch, and at the time he lands and the ball hits the ground, it comes loose as it hits the ground, which would make that incomplete; although he re-possesses it, it does contact the ground when he reaches so the repossession is irrelevant because it was ruled an incomplete pass when we had the ball hit the ground."
|
I don’t get the controversy
… most who disagree with the final decision use the phrase “minor rule”.
Is a rule a rule, except when it’s "minor" ?
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 reads:
Quote:
"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent),
he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground,
whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball,
and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete.
If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."
|
The entire play was video taped
The referee called it a valid catch on the 1 yard line
The Packers coach appealed the ref’s call
The replay videos were viewed
The referees changed the call to "incomplete pass".
The rules were followed.
Some fans liked, and some not so much… but so what ?
The only controversy is wishful thinking
… would the next play(s) at the 1 yd line or the kick-off have changed the score ?
When I watch the video in the above link, I see two events that are consistent with the final ruling.
1) The ball did hit the ground (and Bryant did not have control of the loose ball)
2) In the end zone, Bryant re-caught the loose ball from the air while on his side/back
I find it hard to believe this referee (call-> appeal-> decision) shows a corrupted spirit of the game.
Whoever's turn is next....