The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Technology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Technology Computing, programming, science, electronics, telecommunications, etc.

Old 12-29-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
classicman
barely disguised asshole, keeper of all that is holy.

MacBookPro or What?

Hello all, my daughter is a teacher and is looking to get a new "real computer"
She asked me and I realized that there is no better group to ask than those here....

Her situation in her own words:

As my dad said, I am a teacher. I'll be using this for creating Word documents, creating PowerPoint presentations, emailing, researching... a majority of this computer will help me complete my work tasks. In the rare free time I do have, I like watching videos online or playing the sims. The computer I have at work is a PC, if that means anything. I currently have a HP HDX series from 2008/9 and I have never owned a Mac but have been looking into one.

It must have an operating system that is NOT windows 8.
It must have i7 quad core processor (haswell).
I like the retina display (or equivalent).
I'd like the nvidia graphics but it's not a must have.
Old 12-29-2013, 02:48 PM   #2
Lamplighter
Person who doesn't update the user title

Before you commit to a Mac, go into an Apple Store and ask to see a demonstration
of the Mac "mavericks" operating system, and in particular a demonstration
of the Mac software called "Pages" and "Numbers" and "Keynote"

"Pages" is now the Apple replacement for MS Word
"Numbers" is now the Apple replacement for MS Excel
"Keynote" is also new, but I have not looked into it yet
... it may be a replacement for PowerPoint (or something else)

I have only been working with this new system for a month or so,
and after having been a Macfanatic since the mid-80's,
I have to say I am truly disappointed in these new versions of software.

They are essentially "dumbed down" equivalents of what
used to be a completely cross-platform system.