The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 05-15-2008, 12:42 PM   #1
Flint
Snowflake

Resume Writing Tips

I started where I am approx. 5-6 years ago in the fileroom, and managed to carve a niche out for myself where I'm a system administrator now; the kind of guy that they panic if I take a few days off, because nobody else knows all my tricks, and they keep calling me for help.

But they don't pay me. Not enough to support a wife and two kids decently. And the specific job I'm doing can pay six figures easily. If (?) I really know what I'm doing. But I don't have a degree, nor have I been to any vendor training on this system. I've just figured it out along the way. Yes, there is tech support for my system, but I hardly ever use them (anymore), because I’ve learned and remembered everything I ever had to have them do for me.

So, my qualification is that I’ve been sys admin for 3 years, and that I taught myself how to do it (does that count for anything?) I’m in school now, working on a degree, but I don’t have it yet. But...I need more money. But...I’m slightly nervous that I don’t actually know what I might need to know.

Anyway, does anyone have some resume writing tips for me? I need to start putting myself out there, but I've never had to do a serious resume before. If I get an offer for twice what I’m making now (entirely plausible) at least I could say to mgmt “What are you going to do to keep me here?”