Nothingland Something about nothing - game threads, diversions, time-wasters

Old 01-17-2012, 11:01 PM   #1
monster
I hear them call the tide

When I was 27.....

When I was 27....

I got my PhD -with a bump under my gown
I had my first baby
I still had a late 80s perm (in 1997) -my hair wasn't purple or short and spiky then (second child did that....). But it would have been if I'd've had the guts....
I wore all black and purple and lots of make-up when I went out (nowadays it's just black and if I wear make-up people comment -nicely, but it pisses me off because I'm a bitch that way -I'm sure you mean well when you say I look gorgeous and should wear make-up more often, but Ihear "you're butt-ugly without make-up" /tangent)
I worked in the university bookstore and hung in there way past i shoulda quit to get maternity pay
Beest got his current job -as a temp to start -days before I was due to give birth and almost turned it down because he was worried about not being there. I nearly killed him live on the phone to the recruiter.....

How about you?
Old 01-17-2012, 11:14 PM   #2
Aliantha
trying hard to be a better person

That was 1998/99 for me. I'd just become a single mother and was working with my father starting up a business. I didn't have a perm, but my hair was multi coloured. I looked a bit like a tortis shell cat. By 99 I was living in a two bedroom town house not far from work and thinking about going to Uni and wondering how I'd manage it. This was also the time I discovered the internet and spent a lot of time in a beseen chatroom. I met some real idiots in that chat room. I also met some really nice people - mostly americans and canadians.

It was a pretty tough year for me. I was at about the lowest point esteem wise and emotionally that I've ever been in my life (apart from the PND after max was born).
Old 01-17-2012, 11:51 PM   #3
it
Banned

nice one monster