The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Nothingland

Nothingland Something about nothing - game threads, diversions, time-wasters

Old 03-18-2020, 10:49 AM   #1
monster
I hear them call the tide

I'm terrified

Dear Monster,

Thank you for your interest in ...... We were extremely impressed with your qualifications and experience and would like to invite you to interview by phone. I will be conducting the screening phone interviews. The interview should take about 20 minutes.

This was about an hour ago and I'm still shaking. I was literally hitting rock bottom when the email came in. I have never done a phone interview before. I've barely done a job interview before.

The last job interview I did (for the place that just went bankrupt) had a make-or-break question "what are you passionate about?" I learned later that it was company policy not to hire you if you couldn't answer that seemingly innocent and out-of-the-blue question fairly quickly.

So, I'm going to reread my cover letter and application, write down some words of pith in case I go completely blank (I hate talking on the phone at the best of times) and was wondering if you guys knew of any "surprise" questions/topics today's HR people like to ask? I looked up the interviewer, they are the HR person for this department.

Please be gentle with me, it's been pretty rough and I'm pretty fragile right now
Old 03-18-2020, 11:05 AM   #2
glatt

That's great news monster!

Sorry you're terrified. I would be too.
glatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 11:07 AM   #3
Undertoad
Radical Centrist

Quote:
I learned later that it was company policy not to hire you if you couldn't answer that seemingly innocent and out-of-the-blue question fairly quickly.
Apparently you did it though, so you can do these kinds of things!