The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Nothingland
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Nothingland Something about nothing - game threads, diversions, time-wasters

Old 02-07-2007, 08:47 PM   #1
freshnesschronic
Professor

To Drop or Not to Drop

Yeah. So I'm a freshman at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

So to make this real brief nothingness: Should I drop my Western History before 1710 class?
Reasons why I should.
a) My Ukrainian TA is freakin' obsessed with history and scares me. Plus she makes up words like "diffusension"--Hellenistic culture blending but not taking over the Near East.
b) She makes the discussion session freakin' 4x the amount of work it should be. If you do not answer in a full intellectual sentence your participation is lowered. You have to formulate thesis papers from random facts she has included. You can't restate the book at all--you have to interpret it
c) She called me childish for not carefully reading her email carefully since I had not read a specific section in an extraneous book she assigned.
d) I'd still be more than a full time student (14 credit hours with the drop, 17 with the class--12 credit hours to be full time student).
e) No early classes! At all! (11 AM would be my earliest)
f) She grades like a monster and I would avoid getting a B- (which is my guess of the grade I would receive in the class), thus lowering my GPA.

Reasons why I shouldn't.
a) I should suck it up, some classes are a bitch.
b) I won't be a "real" sophomore if I drop down to 14 credit hours (14 this semester + 14 last semester = 28 which does not equal 30, the requirement to be an Illinois sophomore).
c) I wasted a shitload money on buying a textbook and multiple paperback readings that I'm just going to have to sell back.

Help me!
freshnesschronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 09:01 PM   #2
Bullitt
This is a fully functional babe lair