The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Technology

Technology Computing, programming, science, electronics, telecommunications, etc.

Old 08-28-2002, 11:41 PM   #1
Tobiasly
hot

Dual Athlon setup

So it's time to upgrade my Linux server and I'm thinking about a dual-Athlon setup. I've never built an SMP system before though, and I'm not even sure it'd be worth it.

Dave, I know you have a dual-cpu machine or two.. any particular caveats to watch out for?

I use the server mostly for mail, web, ssh, and ftp servers, but also do a little development on the side. Would I just be throwing $$$ away by going with 2 CPU's? Is there anything special I'd have to do when installing (Red Hat 7.3), or when compiling, to make use of 2 CPU's, or does it pretty much "just work" out of the box?

Also, I have a 64-bit dual-channel SCSI card that's currently being used in a 32-bit box. Would I see a decent performance boost by using it in a 64-bit PCI slot? I'm using a 3x18GB Seagate Cheetah RAID-5 setup (w/ Linux kernel software RAID).

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Tobiasly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 09:27 AM   #2
dave

There are only two setups where I'd use a dual Athlon (and yes, I have one):

a) Heavy use desktop box
b) Heavy use server

If you're just serving some web pages, mail, ssh and the like, you'll probably do just fine with a single processor. Use dual for running a game server with multiple instances plus web, mail, ssh, etc. It's probably <b>not</b> worth it to spend the extra money.

If you did, however, everything would "just work" with Red Hat. It will install two kernels - 2.4.x and 2.4.x-smp. You'll select which one to boot with GRUB (and set the default as the SMP one) and you'll be good to go.