The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 09-24-2010, 11:47 AM   #1
freshnesschronic
Professor

Kindergarten Advice Proven True: Do What You Love

Tonite thanks to discussion with my girlfriend and my parents, I've learned that in this terrible, terrible, economy, you can't just take your first job offered.

You have to do something you love, something you want to do, something you graduated a 4 year Big Ten university studying...I've been impatient and so anxious to get hired, get to work, get paid and start the rest of my life...but taking a sales job in something that isn't what I studied, not what I care about and probably not liking it isn't a great choice.

I need to refocus, think clearly and expand the right resources to find a career that will do everything I want and more.

This summer I had an unpaid internship, didn't like my boss, didn't like what I was doing, and definitely not used to being uncompensated...fall rolls around and l I was very anxious and desperate to find a job and a paycheck. So much that my first FT job offer where I viewed more figures per week than I've ever seen more I jumped on it like a hooker jumps on a benjamin.

This economy is really really bad...but hustling and jumping on a FT job is such a big decision that is completely irrelevant is not the way to go. I love sports and studied sports management at the University of Illinois, it would be more than foolish to go try to sell ad space in a magazine publication. http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=23615

I learned you gotta do what you will love, excel in and be happy about. Hopefully that finds me soon.
freshnesschronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 11:52 AM   #2
Shawnee123
Why, you're a regular Alfred E Einstein, ain't ya?

It will find you soon. I found it when I was 37.