The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Technology (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   SQL Book (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=5416)

Cam 03-26-2004 02:04 PM

SQL Book

I'm looking for a good book on SQL, anyone have any recommendations. I'm looking for something in depth, I don't want a lot of hand holding, just show me the commands and a piece of code they are used in and I'm happy.

jaguar 03-26-2004 03:07 PM

Good refs are all DB-Specific. The O'Rielly MySQL reference is always at my side. If you know your shit I recommend the Pocket Book series O'Rielly does, pocket sized references of all the commands, syntax, operators etc.

Cam 03-26-2004 03:11 PM

That's kind of what I was thinking. I'm just starting to use SQL in one of my classes so I'm basically a beginner, but I catch on to programming languages pretty quickly, and get annoyed rather quickly with handholding in beginning programming books I've read.

Beestie 03-26-2004 03:35 PM

Re: SQL Book

What context will you be using it in? Oracle, Sybase, MS Access, something else? I suggest getting a book that describes it in the context of the system within which you will be deploying it. I'd just go to the local bookstore and poke through the shelves till you found a couple that seem worthy then review and choose one.

The public library might have some stuff too. And its free.

jaguar 03-26-2004 03:41 PM

Good advice from beestie but Public Library refs are usually hopelessly out of date. Nothing could be worse.

If O'Rielly produces a ref for your DB platform I reccomend it. They are references, not 'for dummies' books and often written or co-written by the authors of the programs in question. They tend to be accessiable without skimping on technical details. Fantastic references.

dar512 03-26-2004 04:08 PM

I still have my "Database Systems" book from college. Since it is DBMS independent, I can tell when I'm using DBMS specific syntax. This is often good to know.