The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Technology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Technology Computing, programming, science, electronics, telecommunications, etc.

Old 08-16-2005, 01:33 AM   #1
Kagen4o4
The Sheriff of Nothingland

Pure Mathematics

is anyone else interested in it? Hurwitz integers? Gaussian integers? Fermat? factorising prime numbers? 4 dimensional cubes? Pascal? phi?

im studying them in my 4th year of university and id really like to have a conversation with someone about these things, theyre awesome.
Kagen4o4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 01:50 AM   #2
wolf
lobber of scimitars

I think I heard of Pascal.

That was a programming language when I was in college.

It was a while back ... slightly before the birth of C. (not + or ++, mind you)

I have a high degree of math anxiety, but there is probably someone sufficiently nerdy to participate in a conversation of such things.

I specialize in witty commentary.

And screwing with people's delicate psyches.

I do have some knowledge of impure mathematics, however.

"Conspiracies are the norm, not the exception." --G. Edward Griffin The Creature from Jekyll Island

High Priestess of the Church of the Whale Penis
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 03:21 AM   #3
SteveDallas
Your Bartender

I used to.. took a second major in math in college. I ignored all those nasty applications in favor of abstract algebra, real analysis, number theory, etc.

Now I'd be completely lost at anything more than simple algebra, though I like to think I could relearn it all if I applied myself. (I expect those who were athletes in their youth feel the same way about being out of shape.)
SteveDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 03:45 AM   #4
Kagen4o4

number theory and algebra are pretty much what im doing atm. although im also doing a subject that goes through all the cool little things that maths can be applied to with shapes, magic etc