The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Cities and Travel
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Cities and Travel Tell us about where you are; tell us about where you want to be

Old 11-01-2006, 10:30 PM   #1
SydneyBoy
Pithy Euphemist

Question Anyone been to Dubai?

Anyone been there?

My girlfriend is thinking of moving there for a year for work and I'm thinking of going with her so I need to know certain things. Apparently her work would organise a place to live in an expat-westerner style village so that is taken care of, but I'd like to know things like:

What are the people like there? Friendly to westerners? Unfriendly?

Is Dubai a cool city? Things to do?

Most importantly - can I get work there? I work in the banking/IT industry but would be happy to do English teaching - is that available? Hope I don't have to go back to bar work again??

Hang on - can I get a visa to work there?? Im an Aussie..

Any info would be appreciated.

cool bananas
Old 11-01-2006, 11:55 PM   #2
W.HI.P
Free

Most that have been there would tell you that its the best place to be on the earth, so yeah, I'm sure you'll fall in love the first few days you get there.
Just learn the laws and follow them.
I don't know how easy it will be for you to find emploment there it would depend on what you're looking for, but there are some great oppourtunities there if you place yourself in the right spot, good money.
Dubai is a place for one who seeks a false paradise on earth, its the closest you'll come to it..and even more so in a few years from now, so yeah, it is a good time to be there, lots of money there already, and lots of money pouring in.
W.HI.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:42 AM   #3
Hagar
Master of the Domain

I've had a short stopover in the airport. All I learned from that was that the toilets are unbelievably disgusting.

Useful, eh?
Hagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:48 AM   #4
Tonchi
Victim of gravity