The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Nothingland

Nothingland Something about nothing - game threads, diversions, time-wasters

Old 02-12-2007, 06:15 PM   #1
zippyt
LONG LIVE KING ZIPPY! per Feetz

Being "On Call "

I am a resadent tech for my company , meening that I work out of my house ( 2 hours from the shop one way ) , the guys that live closer in are on the On Call list ( untill today that is ) ,
I take care of our shops ( and I beleve the Corperations ) largest customer .
Friday evening I got a call from this customer saying they had a printer problem , ANY body at the shop can untwist a ribbon , in the past I have only had to go to this customer after hours if it was something complicated ( In-Motion Railroad scale , wireless network , AEI Tag reader , etc,,, ) and my boss backed me up .
F-Stick that was on call told me I was suposed to go , I reminded him that HE was on call not me , and that it was standerd off the shelf product , nothing weird ( he didn't LIKE this ) .
My boss called and asked if I wanted to go ( no I wanted to go home drink a few beers , eat some pizza and watch a movie , go to bed , try to get lucky , and get up and out the door at 6am for a prescheduled job ) , I said no not really , dude is on call , not me , dude is PAID extra to be on call , not me , this is standerd off the shelf stuff and it should be easy .
So dude whines at my boss that " its Not FAIR that I have to be on call and HE doesn't !!!"
Hell he is paid 4 hrs of OVERTIME for the week just to be on call , Weather he has to go any where or NOT .
I am NOT paid extra to be available 24/7/365 .
So I was informed that as of today I am on the on call list just like EVERYBODY else , my responce " Cool more over time , but What about the OTHER resedent tech ??" ( he lives as far away as I do but in the opisite direction from the shop ), my boss " I'll talk to him about it " ???