The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Nothingland

Nothingland Something about nothing - game threads, diversions, time-wasters

Old 05-12-2007, 08:16 PM   #1
richlevy
King Of Wishful Thinking

Why I will never be a US Ambassador

OK, the next President of the US might be a Democrat, so just in case someone offers, I should mention why I am probably unqualified to be an ambassador for the United States.

I swear that the following is a true story. The only name that has been changed is the first name.

It was at least 10 years ago. I was a consultant working at a large company. Normally, I just coded and supported software, but I was sort of the 'go to geek' in our group and occasionally the odd assignment ended up on my desk.

In this case, a report that came out of our system was not printing overseas. Someone thought that the problem might be in the operations center in Europe, so they wanted me to make a troubleshooting call. This would be my first international business call. I can't remember who gave me the index card with the name and number of the contact, the manager from the client or my team leader, but I remember getting the card and reading it for the first time.

And freezing.....

I went back to the guy who gave me the card to double check everything. I asked if he was sure about all of the contact information and if he really wanted me to make the call to Europe. He did, and so I got ready to make the call to the contact in Europe.

Whose name was Karl Schmuck.

Now for those of you who aren't Jewish, I should explain that the word 'schmuck' means penis in Yiddish, or more accurately someone who is a 'dork', and nothing else. It's not like saying 'dick', which could have many meanings. It's closest equivalent is 'dickhead', in that when you call someone that word there can only be one meaning.

So I was about to call Mr. Dickhead in Europe.