The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Technology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Technology Computing, programming, science, electronics, telecommunications, etc.

Old 06-25-2003, 05:53 PM   #1
SteveDallas
Your Bartender

CPU info

OK, clueless technology question. (You wouldn't know I work in the IT field, would you? But these days I spend more time pushing papers and developing budgets than tinkering with computers. An older friend who's the CIO of a medium-sized state university told me he knew the exact moment when he mentally checked out of keeping track of every single detail of technology advances--during a discussion two of his employees were having about interlaced monitors. I haven't gotten there yet but I'm close. )

Anyway. I came to the realization today that I've replaced or upgraded damn near every piece of my home computer except the motherboard, processor, and case. (For the record, it's a Gateway originally purchased in Feb. 1998 with a 233MHz MMX , 32MB of RAM, and a 4 GM hard drive--$1500.) I have enough spares that I'm darned close to being able to get the case, mobo, and processor, and make 2 computers.

But I'm wondering about processors. What are the pros and cons of the various lines? How much am I sacrificing with a 2.0GHz Celeron vs. a 1.4GHz Pentium 4? And I have no clue about the AMD products and how they stack up against Intel chips. Enlightment would be welcome.

Oh, my needs are modest. I don't want to underbuy, but really we mostly just do web surfing, email, and light image processing, some of which results you've seen here. Though DVD burning s a tempting prospect as prices come down.....
SteveDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 08:30 PM   #2
Silent
Romanes Eunt Domus

Short answer:
How much horsepower are you looking at?
Under catagory of "best bang for the buck" is the Barton core Athlon 2500+.
As for Intel stuff, the 2.0Ghz celeron and 1.4Ghz P4 benchmark almost identically.
Long answer: