The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 04-01-2004, 11:37 PM   #1
Brigliadore
stays crispy in milk

April Fool Jokes

In the spirit of LumberJim, who starts random threads all the time, here is mine.

What are some of the best April Fool jokes you have played on someone or had played on you?
Old 04-02-2004, 09:01 AM   #2
SteveDallas
Your Bartender

Many moons ago, when I was a grad student at the University of Pennsylvania, the campus newspaper ran a story that Penn had agreed to merge with the state university system. Penn State would become the University of Pennsylvania at State College and Penn would become the University of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia. It was several paragraphs in before I realized it was a joke. I'm not normally that gullible, but in this case, there had been a lot of controversy at the time about exactly how much funding Penn was going to receive from the state. Furthermore, it was about the third week in March. I was new on campus, so I didn't know that it was traditional to have the "April Fool's" issue of the paper close to, but not actually on, April 1, to avoid being too predictable.
SteveDallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 02:04 PM   #3
staceyv
Lecturer

the girl i work with said that when she was in school, her father set all the clocks in the house ahead about 3 hours and told her and her sister that it was time to get up and get ready for school. he let them get completely ready for school and they walked all the way to the bus stop. then he came and picked them up and told them "april fools!" it was really 4:30 am.
i thought this was a great story.
staceyv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 02:13 PM   #4
Clodfobble
UNDER CONDITIONAL MITIGATION

Did they normally have to go to school while it was still dark out??
Clodfobble is offline   Reply With Quote