The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 06-19-2013, 07:51 AM   #1
Undertoad
Radical Centrist

I wish I was great

I, the born underachiever, can't be satisfied unless I accomplish things and help the world get along. Always ALWAYS feel like I haven't done much. Partly left the pawn shop because greatness was made impossible. Regularly mourn my own life and the lack of possibilities. Hate how my own businesses faltered and died.

I need to do great things. I need accomplishments. I see this won't happen in regular employment and it kind of kills me. I am an architect, a dreamer, I want to build and create.

I have a huge ego and yet am tripped up by low self-esteem in some areas. I don't quite understand myself and my life is half over.
Undertoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:02 AM   #2
ZenGum
Doctor Wtf

What are you doing inside my head?
Old 06-19-2013, 08:42 AM   #3
Lamplighter
Person who doesn't update the user title

I know that feeling too. I think it is an aging thing.
A woman's "change of life" is biological and physical
A man's "change of life" is psychological and may become physical

In our family, it got so that even our kids would chime
with the chant: "First, you got to get out of Buffalo"

We did. We sold our house, moved to Oregon,
and started a whole new book in our family life.

But I repeat myself...
Lamplighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:16 AM   #4
Spexxvet
Makes some feel uncomfortable